no avatar

Hope jazz chamber ensembles to perform

Anonymous • Jul 21, 2015 at 11:14 AM

The public is invited and admission is free.

The concert will feature the Prestige Ensemble, Vanguard Ensemble, Verve Ensemble and Blue Note Ensemble.

The Prestige Ensemble will begin the concert by performing “Route 66,” by Bobby Troupe; “There Will Never be Another You,” by Harry Warren; “A Child is Born,” by Thad Jones; and “Little Sunflower,” by Freddie Hubbard. The Vanguard Ensemble will next perform “Road Song,” by Wes Montgomery; “Song for Bilboa,” by Pat Metheny; and “One by One,” by Wayne Shorter. The Verve Ensemble will then perform “Maiden Voyage,” by Herbie Hancock; “Freddie Freeloader,” by Miles Davis; “Have You Met Miss Jones,” by Rodgers/Hart; and “Take the A Train,” by Duke Ellington. The Blue Note Ensemble will close the concert with “Sack O’ Woe,” by Cannonball Adderley; “Come Condela,” by Mongo Santamaria; “The Nearness of You,” by Washington/Carmichael; and “Sweet Georgia Brown,” by Bernie/Pinkard/Casey.

The college’s jazz chamber ensembles afford students the opportunity to perform in the classic small-group combo setting, and are open to anyone, regardless of experience with jazz. The ensembles vary in size and instrumentation, and place a creative focus on improvisation and group communication.

All of the ensembles perform works from the classic jazz repertoire. The more advanced jazz chamber ensembles also perform repertoire from the contemporary jazz world, and emphasize original student and faculty compositions.

Nykerk Hall of Music is located in the central Hope campus at the former 127 E. 12th St., between College and Columbia avenues.

Recommended for You