Leave Feedback

Hope prof is keynote speaker at Lakeshore Athena Award lunch

Tribune Staff • Jul 21, 2015 at 11:08 AM

Her latest book, “You Don’t Look Like Anyone I Know,” reveals her struggle to discover and overcome face blindness. It was named a 2011 Michigan Notable Book by the Library of Michigan and received a 2011 Adult Literature Award from Chicago-based Friends of American Writers. 

Paperback versions of the publication will be available by The Bookman for attendees at the luncheon for $16, with 10 percent of sales being donated to the Lakeshore Athena Scholarship fund.

The Lakeshore Athena Award Luncheon is a program of the chambers of commerce in Grand Haven, Holland and Muskegon areas. It is presented annually to recognize Lakeshore women who have demonstrated excellence in their business or profession, have provided valuable service by devoting time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in their community, assist women in reaching their full potential, and exhibit the spirit of regional collaboration.

The award was first presented in 1982 in Lansing and was created to raise up one outstanding role model each year in the community. It is now presented to thousands of individuals in hundreds of cities in the United States; as well as in Canada, China, Russia and the United Kingdom.

Chamber of commerce officials say the Athena Award is not a competition but a celebration of excellence, and the honor is really in the nomination.

This year, 25 Lakeshore women have been nominated for the award, which will be given at the Oct. 4 luncheon.

This year’s nominees are: Robyn Afrik, Good Samaritan Ministries; Amy Atkinson, RC Productions; Sharon Behm, Behm Blueberry Farms; Carrie Borchers, IT Resource; Karla Constantine, Travel Leaders; Megan Crumbacher Doss, Special Events LLC; Candace Dugan, Grand Valley State University’ Alexis Dye, Hackley Community Care Center; Nancy Grevel, The Salon; Susan Hagans, a retired bishop and pastor; Renae Hesselink, Nichols; Jeanette Hoyer, Pathways MI; Jamie LeRoux, Baker College; Holly Lookabaugh-Deur, Generation Care; Cindy Moe, Light Corp.; Jennie Naffie, Women’s Lifestyle; Cheryl Lynn Nametz, OAISD (retired); Kay Olthoff, elected official and community volunteer; Gina Otterbein, Northern Physical Therapy; Jill VanderStel, North Ottawa Recreation Authority; Patricia VerDuin, Ready For School; Tracy Wilson, Grand Haven Area Public Schools; Penny Zacek, Spring Lake Public Schools; Helen Zeerip, Teddy’s Transport; and Susan Zwart, Bridgeview Insurance.

Reservations are required for the luncheon. The cost to attend is $40 per person for Chamber members and $50 for nonmembers, or $390 for a corporate table of eight. A portion of ticket sales goes toward the scholarship program. 

Reservations can be made by calling the Chamber of Commerce office in Grand Haven at 842-4910. The deadline is Thursday.

Recommended for You