no avatar

‘Crucifixion’ wins ArtPrize

WZZM-TV • Jul 21, 2015 at 11:09 AM

Lynda Cole of Ann Arbor took the third prize for her sculpture installation, “Rain.” It is on display at the Public Museum of Grand Rapids. 

Van Duinen and Cole will receive $100,000 and $50,000, respectively.

Juried award winners, which each received $7,000 include:

• Two-Dimensional Mimi Kato, St. Louis, Mo.

“One Ordinary Day of an Ordinary Town”

• Three-Dimensional Michelle Brody, New York, N.Y.

“Nature Preserve”

• International Shinji Turner-Yamamoto, Cincinnati, Ohio,

“Disappearances: an eternal journey”

• Time-Based Caroline Young, Chicago


• Urban Space Catie Newell, Detroit

“Salvaged Landscape”

• Sustainability Laura Milkins, Tucson, Ariz.

“Walking Home: stories from the desert to the Great Lakes”

• Ox-Bow Residency Evertt Beidler, Portland, Ore.

“Progressive Movement(s)”

The remaining popular vote award winners, which each received $7,000 included:

• Laura Alexander, Columbus, Ohio, “The Tempest II”

• Paul Baliker, Palm Coast, Fla., “Ocean Exodus”

• Ritch Branstrom, Rapid River, “Rusty: A sense of direction/self portrait”

• Sunti Pichetchaiyakul, Big Fork, Mont., “President Gerald Ford Visits ArtPrize”

• Robert Shangle, Sparta, “Under Construction”

• Bill Secunda, Butler, Pa., “Mantis Dreaming”

• Llew (Doc) Tilma, Wayland, “Grizzlies on the Ford”

More than 382,000 votes were cast in during this year’s 19-day event. Organizers said an estimated 500,000 visitors attended the annual international art competition this year.

In a written statement, Rick DeVos, the founder and chairman of ArtPrize said: “The experience of ArtPrize 2011 is that the opinions of people from all backgrounds are respected with arts professionals and the public standing on equal ground. We are proud of all 18 winners tonight and the dialogue their work created.”

ArtPrize 2011 began Sept. 21. A total of 1,582 artists from 39 countries and 43 U.S. states installed their work at 164 venues in Grand Rapids.

For a complete list of artists and their corresponding venues, visit www.artprize.org.

Recommended for You

    Grand Haven Tribune Videos