More election results

Mark Brooky • Jul 21, 2015 at 11:13 AM

ere elected Tuesday to City Council. They were the top three vote-getters for three seats.

Schyuler James Wilson finished fourth with 259 votes.

Kevin Klynstra was unopposed in his bid for mayor. A city councilman since 1995, Klynstra will replace Les Hoogland, who has been Zeeland’s mayor for the past 22 years.

Montague’s longtime mayor, Henry Roesler Jr., received 129 votes, or 14 more votes than challenger Kevin Erb. However, Erb has been elected mayor.

Roesler died Nov. 1 at the age of 84 and after serving 20 years as Montague’s mayor. According to the White Lake Beacon, state law requires all votes for a deceased candidate to be voided.

In Grand Rapids, Mayor George Heartwell easily won re-election.

In Holland, Wayne Klomparens edged Scott Troeger for a four-year at-large seat on City Council. Klomparens received 1,096 votes to Troeger’s 1,078.

In Coopersville, incumbents Charlie VanderKolk (294 votes) and Larry Crandle (293) were re-elected to four-year terms on City Council. James Ward was third with 217 votes to grab the third council seat on Tuesday’s ballot. Challengers Tim Palko (157), Dan Cooke (146) and Bradley Sprague (115) were unsuccessful.

Recommended for You

    Grand Haven Tribune Videos