no avatar

Former GH standout named a ‘Retro’ Mr. Basketball winner

Anonymous • Jul 21, 2015 at 10:51 AM

   Designed to honor athletes for the next 10 years, the project celebrates the top players from 1920 to 1980. By the time the project is completed in 2019, Michigan’s list of Mr. Basketball winners — retro and modern era — will reach 100 names.

   Last season, BCAM’s “Retro” committee selected seven winners from ballots for years starting the decade: 1920, 1930 and so on. Now in 2011, players were selected in each decade year ending in 1.

   The Mr. Basketball honoree of 1931, Edward Huttenga, played at Grand Haven High School.

   Huttenga, who along with the 1931 team, was elected to the Grand Haven High School Hall of Fame in 2008. He was selected as captain of the squad and considered one of the best centers in the state during his senior season.

   The Buccaneers earned the distinction as the only Class B team in state history to win the Class A state championship. After winning the league championship, Grand Haven coach Gus Cohrs opted to have his squad compete in the highest enrollment level, despite the school being classified in Class B. 

   Grand Haven defeated Battle Creek Central, Dearborn Fordson, and then routed Lansing Central in the championship game, 31-15.

   Huttenga earned all-conference honors that season and later lettered at Western State Teachers College — now known as Western Michigan University.

Recommended for You