SL Yacht Club sailors flourish at WMYA Championships

Tribune Staff • Jul 21, 2015 at 11:04 AM

Kimball was the top performer in the E Boat Fleet, which featured 24 total boats. He was followed in the standings by Charlie Knape in seventh place and Brett Hatton in eighth.

Also showing well for SLYC was Todd Bosgraaf, who was third out of nine competitors in the C Boat Fleet; and Connor Davis, who finished sixth out of 62 boats in the MC Fleet.

In addition, Davis was presented with the Teddy Knape Memorial Trophy, given each year to the top junior sailor at the event. The trophy honors the memory of SLYC’s Teddy Knape, an avid sailor and skier who died of from a heart defect in 2006. He was 21 years old.

A total of 11 SLYC sailors placed in the top 10 of their boat class in the prestigious and highly competitive event.

In the C Boat Fleet, SLYC’s Karl Lanka was fifth, Chad Hough eighth and Dan Bowen ninth.

Following Davis in the MC Fleet were Andy Molesta in eighth place, and Chris Eggert in 10th.

A complete list of Spring Lake Yacht Club members and their finishes follows:

E Boat Fleet

(24 total boats)

1. Jamie Kimball

7. Charlie Knape

8. Brett Hatton

17. Paul Wickland

19. Molesta/Fox

20. Isaac Leestma

C Boat Fleet

(9 total boats)

3. Todd Bosgraaf

5. Karl Lanka

8. Chad Hough

9. Dan Bowen

MC Boat Fleet

(62 total boats)

6. Connor Davis

8. Andy Molesta

10. Chris Eggert

11. Brien Fox

13. Jamie Kimball

18. Gary Verplank

19. Jeff Cornetet

21. Todd Bosgraaf

29. Scott Harested

32. Lara Lanka

59. David Wolters

Butterfly Junior Fleet (57 total boats)

1. Frank Reeg

2. Mason Wolters

5. Libby Reeg

6. Olivia Windemuller

7. Mara Strobel-Lanka

25. Julie Lucas

Opti Fleet

(15 total boats)

6. Noah Wolters

7. Noah Locascio

The WMYA was founded in 1929 to promote intense inter-club competition with this annual regatta, which boasts 20 member clubs from around the country.

For more information, visit www.wmya.org.

Recommended for You