Grand Haven City Council, mayor seats unopposed

Grand Haven City Council candidates will be running unopposed in this year's election. The City Clerk's office has received verified nominating petitions from Geri McCaleb for a mayoral term expiring in 2013. McCaleb served on City Council from 2001 to 2009 and is seeking to fill the seat currently held by Mayor Roger Bergman.
Alex Doty
May 11, 2011


Earlier this year, Bergman announced that he would not seek re-election after serving a total of 12 years on council, and as mayor since 2003.
Petitions were also filed by current Councilman Mike Fritz and Lake Forest Cemetery Board member John Hierholzer for council terms expiring in 2015.

Ed Nieuwenhuis, who has served on City Council since 2003, is not seeking re-election.

The City Clerk’s office also received verified nominating petitions for Gerald Witherell, Michael Ciofu and Larry Kieft for two Grand Haven Board of Light & Power positions, which expire in 2017. Witherell and Kieft are the incumbent candidates.

Witherell was appointed to the Board of Light & Power in April 2005 and officially elected into the position in November 2005. Kieft was elected to the board in November 2005.

Nominating petitions were due at 4 p.m. Tuesday.


Post a Comment

Log in to your account to post comments here and on other stories, galleries and polls. Share your thoughts and reply to comments posted by others. Don't have an account on Create a new account today to get started.