No surprises in uncontested SL Village Council election

Everyone was a winner in Tuesday's Spring Lake Village Council election. Incumbents were running unopposed and were successful in their re-election bids. Write-in candidate Bill Meyers also won a council seat. Village Councilman Jim MacLachlan won a two-year term as village president. He will replace Village President Bill Filber in January. Filber opted not to run again, saying he wanted to "take a breather' from politics. Incumbent councilmen Steve Nauta and David Bennett won four-year terms Tuesday night, as did Meyers.
Marie Havenga
Sep 14, 2011


Of 1,998 registered voters in the village, 57 cast their ballots, according to Village Clerk/Treasurer Maribeth Lawrence. That’s a 2.8-percent turnout for the only election in Ottawa County on Tuesday.

MacLachlan received 42 votes; Bennett, 41; Nauta, 36; and Meyers, 32.

“There were no surprises,” Lawrence said. “(Voters) trickled in. You always hope the turnout would be more — but when a race is uncontested, it’s hard to get people out to vote.

The council members will be sworn in at the first meeting in January, according to Lawrence.


Post a Comment

Log in to your account to post comments here and on other stories, galleries and polls. Share your thoughts and reply to comments posted by others. Don't have an account on Create a new account today to get started.