Holland lawyer named 2011 Lakeshore Athena Award recipient

A Holland lawyer was named recipient of the Lakeshore Athena Award on Tuesday. Candace Dugan also works as the director of gift planning for Grand Valley State University. The announcement was made at the Lakeshore Athena Award Luncheon Celebration, held at the Trillium Gilmore Collection Banquet and Conference Center in Ferrysburg. The Lakeshore Athena Award program is a collaboration of the chambers of commerce in Grand Haven, Holland and Muskegon.
Oct 5, 2011


Dugan has taken an active interest in promoting women professionals since she started her law practice upon graduation from the University of Michigan Law School. She was awarded the Michigan Super Lawyer Award and, as senior counsel for the law firm of Warner Norcross & Judd, was recognized as one of the “100 Best Lawyers in America 2010” by a legal profession peer-review publication called Best Lawyers.

Chamber officials said she has lived, worked and volunteered up and down the Lakeshore, with a vested interest in the people and in the communities that make up the region. She has been involved with many local organizations, serving on several boards of directors. Chamber officials said she is an advocate for women in her career and in the community organizations in which she serves.

Gwen Auwerda, chairwoman for the award program, said 25 nominee applications were considered this year.  

“We are honored to have so many women from our region that have made significant contributions in the communities where they live and work,” she said.

Auwerda said that Dugan, along with many of the other nominees, exceed the requirements to be eligible for an annual award. It was created to recognize one outstanding role model each year who exhibits exceptional leadership skills, has achieved excellence in their own business or profession, served the community in a meaningful way, assisted other women in reaching their full leadership potential and has made regional contributions. The recipient is chosen by a selection committee composed of representatives from the participating chambers of commerce and community business leaders.

Last year’s Lakeshore Athena Award recipient was Elizabeth Rolinski, vice president of operations/advanced energy for Johnson Controls.


Post a Comment

Log in to your account to post comments here and on other stories, galleries and polls. Share your thoughts and reply to comments posted by others. Don't have an account on GrandHavenTribune.com? Create a new account today to get started.