More election results

A roundup of elections in other Ottawa County and West Michigan cities on Tuesday
Mark Brooky
Nov 10, 2011


ere elected Tuesday to City Council. They were the top three vote-getters for three seats.

Schyuler James Wilson finished fourth with 259 votes.

Kevin Klynstra was unopposed in his bid for mayor. A city councilman since 1995, Klynstra will replace Les Hoogland, who has been Zeeland’s mayor for the past 22 years.

Montague’s longtime mayor, Henry Roesler Jr., received 129 votes, or 14 more votes than challenger Kevin Erb. However, Erb has been elected mayor.

Roesler died Nov. 1 at the age of 84 and after serving 20 years as Montague’s mayor. According to the White Lake Beacon, state law requires all votes for a deceased candidate to be voided.

In Grand Rapids, Mayor George Heartwell easily won re-election.

In Holland, Wayne Klomparens edged Scott Troeger for a four-year at-large seat on City Council. Klomparens received 1,096 votes to Troeger’s 1,078.

In Coopersville, incumbents Charlie VanderKolk (294 votes) and Larry Crandle (293) were re-elected to four-year terms on City Council. James Ward was third with 217 votes to grab the third council seat on Tuesday’s ballot. Challengers Tim Palko (157), Dan Cooke (146) and Bradley Sprague (115) were unsuccessful.


Post a Comment

Log in to your account to post comments here and on other stories, galleries and polls. Share your thoughts and reply to comments posted by others. Don't have an account on Create a new account today to get started.