W. Michigan police to crack down on drunk drivers

Motorists are being warned not to let their summertime fun end with a drunk driving arrest. Law enforcement agencies in 13 West Michigan counties will be cracking down on drunk drivers through additional patrols from Aug. 19 to Sept. 5. The Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning is coordinating the crackdown by administering federal traffic safety funds to more than 200 agencies in 35 counties. Grant-funded counties in West Michigan are Ottawa, Allegan, Barry, Berrien, Calhoun, Cass, Ionia, Kalamazoo, Kent, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo and Van Buren.
Anonymous
Aug 13, 2011

 

“Extra officers will be out on the road, looking for drunk drivers,” said OHSP Director Michael Prince. “Motorists need to be aware that it’s simply not worth the risk. If they are caught over the limit, they will find themselves under arrest.”

During the 2010 Labor Day drunk driving crackdown, more than 500 motorists were arrested for drunk driving and other alcohol-related offenses.

About 38 percent of all traffic fatalities in Michigan involve alcohol and/or drugs, and last year 357 people died as a result of alcohol and/or drug-involved traffic crashes.

Over the 2010 Labor Day holiday weekend, 21 people died in Michigan crashes. Ten of those fatalities involved alcohol, including five people who were killed in one crash, according to the state police.

Motorists face severe penalties for driving drunk. Those convicted of a first drunk driving offense face up to 93 days in jail, up to a $500 fine, up to 360 hours of community service, six points on a driver’s license and up to 180 days’ license suspension.

Anyone arrested for a first-time drunk driving offense with a 0.17 blood-alcohol content or above faces increased penalties, including the possible installation of an ignition interlock device preventing their car from starting if the driver has been drinking. In addition, convicted drunk drivers will be subject to a $1,000 fee for two consecutive years, for a total of $2,000 in additional costs. Anyone who refuses a breath test the first time is given an automatic one-year driver’s license suspension.

Comments

ghjhs

yea the state will give funds to support this,,it's money in the bank for the state,the county's the court,and the lawres..they will all get a pice of you and make you pay pay pay,hear in Grand Haven on friday and Sat night the cops are just licking their chops waiting for you in town..

newsblogger

When one of your loved ones is killed by a drunk driver, will you be singing the same tune? How hard is it to designate a sober driver or to call a cab if you have been drinking?

 

Post a Comment

Log in to your account to post comments here and on other stories, galleries and polls. Share your thoughts and reply to comments posted by others. Don't have an account on GrandHavenTribune.com? Create a new account today to get started.