Nine Trojans' wrestlers qualify for regionals

Butler, Fialek, Sherman win individual district titles for Fruitport
Tribune Staff
Feb 10, 2014

Three Fruitport wrestlers won individual district championships and nine Trojans qualified for next weekend’s regional tournament at Saturday’s Division 2 individual district tourney at Coopersville.

Collin Butler, Austin Fialek and Kylan Sherman won district titles for the Trojans.

At heavyweight, Fruitport’s Chris Hendricks was the favorite as he entered the tournament with an undefeated record. But Hendricks lost to East Grand Rapids’ Ryan Johnson in the semifinals due to an injury, and teammate Sherman took advantage. Sherman pinned his first three opponents, then won by injury default over EGR’s Johnson in the finals.

The Trojans’ Tommy Martinez, Cameron Butler, Andrew Bunda, Dalton Pope, Alek Heiss and Hendricks also qualified for the regionals, as did Spring Lake's Sawyer Smith, Gabe Giddings and George Nietering.

To read more of this story, see the print or e-edition of the Grand Haven Tribune.

Post a Comment

Log in to your account to post comments here and on other stories, galleries and polls. Share your thoughts and reply to comments posted by others. Don't have an account on Create a new account today to get started.