Schools get new leaders

Krystle Wagner • Jul 21, 2015 at 11:49 AM

Grand Haven Area Public Schools

Voters in the Grand Haven district elected a challenger and an incumbent to serve on the school board for six-year terms.

Incumbent Christine Baker topped the three running for two seats with 10,247 votes. Challenger Mike Cramer won a seat with 7,398 votes. Incumbent Dave Davis was ousted from the board by coming in third with 5,740 votes.

Although Cramer has run for an office before, he said it’s a weird feeling to be elected.

Cramer said he’s excited about the opportunity ahead of him, yet intimidated — "just because it’s a big thing to take on,” he explained. “It needs to be done responsibly.”

As Cramer looks forward to the future, he said he doesn’t have a set agenda because he sees only things that can be slightly improved.

“It’s going to be interesting,” he said.

Baker, although an incumbent, was running for the first time because she had been appointed to the school board since the last election. She said her campaigning efforts were low-key because she was focused on learning the ropes as an appointee.

Baker said she’s humbled by the community’s support and happy to serve the district.

“I’m gratified to the community for their support,” she said. “I hope I can do a good job.”

Spring Lake Public Schools

Voters in the Spring Lake district also elected one incumbent and one challenger to the two four-year terms up for grabs in Tuesday's election. Incumbent Lisa Ashcraft received 3,833 votes, while newcomer Curt Theune beat out incumbent Dennis Devlin, 3,731 to 2,046.

Ashcraft said she’s happy for the chance to continue her service to the district.

“I appreciate everyone wants to see me back,” she said.

Looking ahead, Ashcraft said there will be a lot to do in making sure school buildings are up to date and finding alternative ways for funding.

Curt Theune, a sergeant with the Spring Lake/Ferrysburg Police Department, said he encourages residents to share their thoughts about the district because he’s representing them.

“I’m very excited about the opportunity,” he said.

Fruitport Community Schools

Three challengers faced two incumbents for two seats on the Fruitport school board. Voters elected incumbent Steve Keglovitz (2,193 votes) and newcomer Kris Cole (2,144 votes). Incumbent Ted Cerniglia is off the board by coming in third with 1,869 votes. Challengers Kurt Hazard and Gavin Haan were fourth and fifth in the voting.

Recommended for You