GH Science Olympiad teams advance to state meet

Becky Vargo • Mar 21, 2016 at 8:00 AM

ALLENDALE — All three Grand Haven schools advance to the state Science Olympiad meet after placing in the top tier of teams at the 32nd Annual Michigan Science Olympiad Regional Tournament held Saturday at Grand Valley State University.

Lakeshore Middle School took first place – for the third year in a row — in the middle school division at the Region 12 event.

Forty-four teams competed in the middle school division.

Grand Haven High School placed second of 25 high school teams at the event. White Pines Intermediate School finished in eighth place out of the 44 middle school teams.

The top 10 middle school and the top six high school teams in each region advance to the state meet set for April 30 at Michigan State University.

Region 12 includes students from schools in Ottawa and Kent counties 

The tournament is scored by awarding points according to placement in each of 23 events, said Lakeshore coach Nathan Mihalek.

“Lakeshore placed first with an all-time Lakeshore team low of 60 points,” he said.

This was the 31st year Grand Haven High School competed in the regional tournament, said Coach Mike Reed.

The team finished two points out of first place – with 97 points, behind Grand Rapids Christian High School, who scored 95 points.

Third place went to West Ottawa High School, while Plymouth Christian High School finished fourth. Allendale High School took fifth place and Forest Hills Central High claimed the remaining spot to be eligible for this year’s state competition.

Only two teams from each division will advance from the state meet to the national competition.

The younger students from White Pines Intermediate School took eighth place in the middle school competition – a “job well done,” according to their coach, Rhonda Bird. “I couldn’t be prouder of them.”

White Pines scored 248 points.

The following middle school teams advance out of Region 12: Lakeshore, Chandler Woods, Allendale, Plymouth Christian, Jenison, Harbor Lights, East Grand Rapids, White Pines, Macatawa Bay and Riley Street.

Medals were awarded through eighth place.

Grand Haven High School received medals in 19 of their 23 events as follows:

First Place

Cell Biology: Emily Stringham, Maiya Yu

Dynamic Planet: Haley Kalis, Trent Stegink

Forensics: Scott Bays, Anna Jullie

Game On: Kaden Kar, Ciana Witherell

GeoLogic Mapping: Haley Kalis, Trent Stegink

It’s About Time: Travis Myers, Ciana Witherell

Protein Modeling: Leah Chappell, Emily Stringham, Maiya Yu

Second Place

Anatomy and Physiology: Leah Chappell, John Richardson

Bridge Building: Noah Van Abbema, Connor Weber

Experimental Design: Haley Kalis, Emily Stringham, Ciana Witherell

Fossils: Haley Kalis, Trent Stegink

Green Generation: Scott Bays, Anna Jullie

Hydrogeology: Trent Stegink, Jasmine Wang

Third Place

Disease Detectives: Noah Merriman, Emily Stringham

Fourth Place

Air Trajectory: Kaden Kar, Connor Weber

Electric Vehicle: Noah Van Abbema, Connor Weber

Invasive Species: Anna Jullie, John Richardson

Wright Stuff: Noah Van Abbema, Connor Weber

Fifth Place

Astronomy: Scott Bays, Travis Myers

Ninth Place

Chemistry Lab: Leah Chappell, Maiya Yu

Twelfth Place

Robot Arm: Noah Van Abbema, Ciana Witherell

Fourteenth Place

Wind Power: Noah Merriman, Travis Myers

Nineteenth Place

Write It Do It: Jasmine Wang, Noah Van Abbema

Trial Events

Fourth Place

Potions and Poisons: Kendal Kroes, Jasmine Wang

Other team members include Ian Dean, Ronald Hodge, Fritz Jaeger, William Mayfield, Eric Moerland, Natasha Robertson, Andrea VanDyke, and Emma Wingard.

The head coach is Mike Reed and the assistant coaches are Luke Anderson, Eric Dykstra, David Funk, Greg Huizenga, Jason Hunter, George Jaeger, Robert Monetza, Melissa Moerland, Marcella Morrell, Julie Olson, Dennis Striegle, Margaret Shay, Dan Tlachac, Jim Vande Waa, and Jeremey Wilder.

Lakeshore Middle School placements are as follows:

1st Place (9):

Anatomy and Physiology:  Valerie Bobeldyk and Natalie Currie

Bio-Process Lab: Valerie Bobeldyk and Carter Brown

Bridges: Thomas Draper and Nolan Ruble

Dynamic Planet: Carter Brown and Brenner Kar

Elastic Launched Glider:  Thomas Draper and Nolan Ruble

Food Science: Brenner Kar and Nolan Ruble

Scrambler: Grace Doyon and Nolan Ruble

Wind Power: Thomas Draper and Brenner Kar

Potions and Poisons (Trial Event):  Kelsie McManus and Tess O’Leary

2nd Place (9):

Crave the Wave:  George Fullerton and Brenner Kar

Crime Busters: Sophia Jaeger and Nolan Ruble

Experimental Design:  Thomas Draper, Kiya Hammond, and Nolan Ruble

Fossils: Carter Brown and Kiya Hammond

Green Generation: Samantha Kasbohm and Matthew Marcus

Invasive Species: Carter Brown and Morgan Womack

Meteorology: Brenner Kar and Samantha Kasbohm

Road Scholar: George Fullerton and Matthew Marcus

Write it, Do it: Matthew Marcus and Valerie Bobeldyk

3rd Place (1):

Picture This: Morgan Womack and Maddie Streng

4th Place (4):

Air Trajectory: Thomas Draper and Nolan Ruble

Disease Detectives: Valerie Bobeldyk and Matthew Marcus

Mission Possible: Thomas Draper and Kiya Hammond

Roller Coaster: Elizabeth Hodge and Frank Frisinger

7th Place (1):

Bottle Rockets: Thomas Draper and Matthew Marcus

12th Place (1):

Reach for the Stars: Matthew Marcus and Samantha Kasbohm

Also involved with the team are: Keegan Aerts, Nabeel El-Amir, Caroline Jeisey-Word, Libby Haan, Lindsey Hubbell, Mercedes Mancilla, Trevor Martin, Tess O'Leary, Meadow White, Matt Bays, Quinn Byington, Andrew Egerer, Frank Frisinger, Elizabeth Hodge, Cameron Lakatos, Bennett Lowe, Kelsie McManus, Cameron Pikaart, and Gavin Plemon.

White Pines Middle School placements were:

3rd Place

Fossils – Carl Jaeger and MaxTran

Scrambler – Charlie VanAbbema and Jaxon Hancock

Wind Power – Frank Roberts and Grant Bell

4th Place

Dynamic Planet – Carl Jaeger and Chase Greene

Potions and Poisons – Paige Meller and Olivia Stevens

5th Place

Crime Busters – Sammi Ruble and Justine Wolffis

Elastic Launch Glider – Sammi Ruble and Charlie VanAbbema

Invasive Species – Carl Jaeger and Frank Robert

 6th Place

Bridge Building – Sammi Ruble and Justine Wolffis

Picture This – Sammi Ruble and Justine Wolffi

7th Place
Experimental Design – Carl Jaeger, Charlie VanAbbema, Marissa McManus

Mission Possible – Frank Roberts and Charlie VanAbbem 

9th Place

Bottle Rockets – Jacob Marcus and Kaitlin Zylstra

11th Place
Crave The Wave – Frank Roberts and Aashray Mandal 

12th Place

Disease Detectives — Jacon Marcus and Marissa McManus

13th Place

Air Trajectory – Jaxon Hancock and Chase Greene

14th Place

Anatomy and Physiology – Aashray Mandala and Marissa McManus

Green Generation – Frank Roberts and Jacob Marcus

15th Place

Food Science – Jaxon Hancock and Sammi Ruble

Road Scholar – Marissa McManus and Wil Stegin 

19th Place

Reach For the Stars – Jacob Marcus and Aashray Mandala

Bio Process Lab – Jaxon Hancock and Aashray Mandala

20th Place

Meteorology – Aashray Mandala and Grant Bell

33rd Place –

Write it Do it – Sammi Ruble and Justine Wolffis


Recommended for You

    Grand Haven Tribune Videos