2 more cities named 'Coast Guard City'

Grand Haven is one of 28 communities designated by Congress as a "Coast Guard City."

WASHINGTON — The U.S. Coast Guard has designated the cities of Cordova, Alaska, and Westport, Washington, as Coast Guard Cities through 2024.

A “Coast Guard City” designation highlights an enduring relationship a community has with its local Coast Guard facility and personnel, the Coast Guard said in making the announcement this week. Congress approved the designations on Sept. 30.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.